Children and Toy Guns?

Toy Guns?

Starz,
Guns seem to be all over children’s television today. Lately, my 5 year old has been obsessed with guns. Despite guns or toy guns not being allowed in the house, he still manages to shoot using crayons, paper, and other things. Should I be worried? What should I do?
-Terry


Terry,
“Three types of programming accounted for most of gun violence; movies (54%), dramatic series (19%), and children’s shows (16%). Looking at this rate, a child viewer on average will see nearly two gun-related violent incidents every hour that he or she watches TV.” (Victor C Strasburger et al in Children, Adolescents, and the Media – Second Edition)
There’s just nothing we can do about the exposure of violence to our children unless we can keep them away from all electronics and the outside world. I wouldn’t be worried. If you make a big deal out of it, it seems like they want to do it more.
Talk to your child about guns. Ask them what makes them like guns and explain that guns can hurt people and are not safe.
A lot of parents come up with a couple rules to make the violence more under control, like not being allowed to point them at people, and not being allowed to call them guns. Maybe blasters or lasers would work better? (That’s what they are called on Star Wars)
I hope that helps!
good luck!
Starz

2 Comments

Filed under ChildCare411

2 responses to “Children and Toy Guns?

  1. Cat

    This was a great debate in my house. Sadly I lost the battle. It went on from the time I knew I was having a boy until my son’s third birthday.

    I was 100% against toy guns. More so since we have real guns in the house. I didn’t want my son to play with anything to do with them. I truly believed that it would teach him how to act out & be violent.. But my dear older brother bought him a nerf gun. *thanks btw* & I lost the battle. I knew I was going to lose with my husband being a good old southern boy.

    It became something to teach my son instead. As a parent we have to teach them right from wrong. My son is now five, & he knows the rules about his toy guns. He’s not allowed to point them at people, cars, animals. *Unless he is “hunting” with daddy. He knows that he’s not allowed to mess with my husband & my guns. He knows the difference between real guns & fake guns. We also make it a point to make sure he doesn’t own any toys that look real, & we don’t own any real that look like toys.

  2. Desmond

    I think toy guns are probably on the list of the worst obviously not thought out toy ever. Then again its our RESPONSIBILITY as parents to teach our children gun safety either way you sway on the issue. GUNS are NOT toys bottom line.We live in a world that has sadly stripped away most the innocence our children have. 20 years ago when I was 5 it was no big deal to play “Cops and Robbers”,now its literally killing kids.

Leave a Reply

